7 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: Likes:
  (Read 3100 times)  

Well, it's my first time picking the photographs of the week... so be gentle with me!

Travel & Outdoor

Styling in Luang Prabang, Laos - © Richard P Schoettger
Styling in Luang Prabang, Laos - © Richard P Schoettger

I really liked this one by Richard P Schoettger - it is full of interest. It took me a while to decide that I liked the colour element in the frame, but in the end I decided it was a stronger image because of it mainly as it draws attention to the continuous repetition in the mirror. 

People & Portrait

Dark-haired Beauty - © Lucy Llewellyn Byard
Dark-haired Beauty - © Lucy Llewellyn Byard

Lucy Llewellyn Byard's "Dark-haired Beauty" was, I thought, a fantastic photograph. I like the overall effect of the high contrast treatment and felt that it enhanced the subject matter well.

Nature & Wildlife

Osprey with Dish - © Avi Hirschfield
Osprey with Dish - © Avi Hirschfield

I am going to have to give this one to Avi Hirschfield! I have been really enjoying his avian photographs of late!

Weekly Challenge - Shooting Mono

Sydney Opera House - © Richard P Schoettger
Sydney Opera House - © Richard P Schoettger

This photograph really just works for me on so many levels. It is a superb mono conversion, a superb architectural photograph and artistically just hangs together perfectly. Superb work by Richard P Schoettger (again!).

I am also going to give a special mention to  Rahul Dulta for his photograph "Sheep" as I was really rather taken by that photograph - it was a difficult choice as to which one I should pick between his and Richards.  In the end the Opera House won through, but I had to highlight this "runner up"

Sheep - © Rahul Dulta
Sheep - © Rahul Dulta

The Weekly Challenge was actually very strong this week throughout... you guys do know how to make life difficult don't you!

Rob

Rob Sutherland
Alpinist Photography
Cumbria, United Kingdom

District

Well done Rob! Congrats to all!